Loading Events
March 18 @ 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm
  • Fiction

After the Snow / Summer in Mayfair

Susannah Constantine

Venue:

South Woodham Ferrers Library, Trinity Square
South Woodham Ferrers, CM3 5JU
Tickets:
£7
£5 (27 yrs and under)
Book

Box Office:

Mercury Theatre
01206 573948

Come and hear television presenter and author Susannah Constantine talk about her first novel After the Snow and her upcoming sequel Summer in Mayfair.

After the Snow cover

 

AFTER THE SNOW

Christmas morning, 1969.
All eleven-year-old Esme Munroe wants for Christmas is for her mother to be on one of her ‘good’ days – and, secretly, for a velvet riding hat. So when she finds an assortment of wet towels and dirty plates in her stocking, she’s just relieved Father Christmas remembered to stop at The Lodge this year.

But later that day Esme’s mother disappears in the heavy snow. Even more mysteriously, only the Earl of Culcairn seems to know where she might have gone. Torn between protecting her mother and uncovering the secrets tumbling out of Culcairn Castle’s ornate closets, Esme realises that life will never be the same again after the snow…

Susannah Constantine provides a rare glimpse into the secret lives of the scandalous upper classes. Perfect for fans of Downton Abbey and The Crown

 

Summer in Mayfair cover

 

SUMMER IN MAYFAIR

1979. Esme Munroe is now twenty-six years old and finally leaving the wild landscape of the Scottish highlands behind her for the big smoke.

Arriving in London, she starts work at prestigious Art Gallery in Mayfair, and meets the gorgeous and worldly Suki, who takes her to the most glamourous bars and clubs in London.

But the fast, frenetic pace of the city is easy to become lost in – will Esme discover a long-hidden secret about herself and who she can really trust, before it’s too late?

Don’t miss the stunning sequel to After the Snow.  Summer in Mayfair is perfect for fans of Downton Abbey and The Crown.

“Thoughtful and dark” – The Times Magazine
“Captivating” – Woman & Home
“Beautifully written” – Hello!

 

About the Author

Susannah Constantine is an English fashion journalist, advisor, television presenter, author and designer. She hosted the BBC 2 programme What Not to Wear from 2001 to 2005 and went on to co-host Trinny & Susannah Undress and Undress the Nation, as well as frequently appearing as a makeover stylist on The Oprah Winfrey show. In 2015, Susannah flew to Australia to compete in I’m A Celebrity Get Me Out of Here.

 

Venue

South Woodham Ferrers Library
Trinity Square
South Woodham Ferrers, CM3 5JU
+ Google Map
033301 32692

Visit accessable.co.uk for all disability and access information about South Woodham Ferrers.

Hearing Loop: Essex Book Festival has a mobile Roger Pen hearing loop system, which needs to be booked by individuals in advance at least five days before the event. If you would like to use the Roger Pen email [email protected]